top of page

The 7th Annual
DeLand Woman
of the Year


Nominee's leadership skills, past or present, may span from Business, Education, Philanthropic Endeavors, and/or Religious Organizations. 

Event Details:
Date: Friday, March 3, 2023

Time: 12:00-2:00 PM
Location: Sanborn Center, 815 S. Alabama Ave., DeLand, FL

Nominations close on Friday, February 24, 2023

Nominee Cost: $45.00 (Includes nomination fee and lunch)

Guest Cost: $45 (Includes lunch)

Eligibility: Nominees must be an adult woman living in, working in or representing the DeLand Community. Her contributions to the DeLand Community may be past or present.

Please attach a one page or less Recommendation Letter incorporating the following:


  • How the nominee currently supports or has supported the DeLand Community

  • Leadership positions the Nominee currently holds or has held in the DeLand Community

  • Personal attributes of the Nominee that exemplify her leadership

Please contact Cecelia Earl at with questions.

Upload Letter of Recommendation

Upload File

Thanks for your nomination! Don't forget to purchase tickets for the nominee and guests!

This form no longer accepts submissions.


2022 DeLand Woman of the Year Ceremony

Linda Ryan.jpeg

Congratulations to our 2022 DeLand Woman of the Year Winner, Linda Ryan!

Among her many accomplishments, Linda is co-founder of ME STRONG, a 501c3 charity whose mission is to support the friends, families, and individuals battling cancer through the power of friendship. ME STRONG has given nearly $2,000,000 to ease the financial burden of patients in Central Florida by assisting with household bills and has funded annual cancer research grants through the Foundation for Women’s Cancer and Conquer Cancer.

After a virtual celebration last year, we were thrilled to come together in person for the 6th Annual DeLand Woman of the Year Awards to recognize 10 distinguished local women. The event took place at the Sanborn Events Center on March 25, 2022.


2022 Nominees

Sakeia Wingate

Becky Adesso

Dr. Rajni Shankar-Brown

Jackie Mosness

Linda Hannon

Leah Dokey

Linda Ryan

Kristi Tyrrell

Emilie Wren

Shannon Young

2021 DeLand Woman of the Year Ceremony


2021 DeLand Woman of the Year Winner Belinda Huttmann

2020 DeLand Woman of the Year Ceremony

DeLand WOTY Winner - 1.jpg

2020 DeLand Woman of the Year Winner Lorna Jean Hagstrom.

DeLand WOTY Winners - 2.jpg

2020 DeLand Woman of the Year Winner Lorna Jean Hagstrom with 2019 Winner Barbara Curtis Underhill.

DeLand WOTY Nominees.jpg

The 2020 Nominees, pictured left to right: Savannah-Jane Griffin, Pam Coffman, Jennifer Stephenson, Elizabeth Williams, Lorna Jean Hagstrom, Amanda Sarnes, Barbara Girtman, Susan Clark, Lisa Lewis, and Althea Ross Chavers.

DWOY Tickets

The 4th Annual DeLand Woman of the Year saw the most nominees yet, with 10 outstanding local women honored at the March 1st event. Nominees were lauded with a luncheon banquet at the Sanborn Events Center.

Nominees included Lorna Jean Hagstrom of Advent Health Foundation, Althea Ross Chavers of the West Volusia Boys and Girls Club, Susan Clark of the Neighborhood Center, Pam Coffman of the Museum of Art-DeLand, Lisa Lewis, Supervisor of Elections, Barbara Girtman Volusia County Councilwoman for District 1,  Elizabeth Williams, Personal Trainer, Amanda Sarnes, Co-owner and Marketing Director of Home Team Lending, Jennifer Stephenson, SMA Healthcare and Savannah Jane-Griffin, Executive Director of Community Engagement and Inclusive Excellence at Stetson University.


Event chair Erica Carter presented a brief history of JSL and rundown of current projects before introducing each nominee. JSL membership voted for the winner, choosing Lorna Jean Hagstrom. Thank you to Assistant Chair Gini Myers and committee members for your help on a spectacular community event. 

2019 DeLand Woman of the Year Ceremony


Assistant Chair Erica Opisso CarterRachel Myers pictured with 2019 winner Barbara Curtis UnderhillJennifer Hightower, and Chair Maigan Walters. Committee member Jamie Mathews not pictured.


​The 2019 Award Nominees


2018 winner Mary Gusky

2017 winner Louise Ball Caccamise

bottom of page